Is DUPSTER DIVING Your Dog’s New Hobby?

Who ME?

I don’t know about your dog but mine has taken a liking to going through the trash, just to make sure I haven’t thrown something tasty away. He never does it while I am home, but if I leave him for a few minuets and don’t make sure to put the trash out I am certain to walk in on a MESS. I do my best to remember to put the trash out so that it won’t be a temptation, however I don’t want to know he is waiting for his moment either. So, I learned a trick! I set up a little trap, first I got a bunch of empty soda cans and a cookie sheet, then I balanced the sheet on top of the trash can with the cans on the sheet. I made sure there were some very tempting and smelly items in the trash and then I stepped out for a little walk. I didn’t go far, I just waited until I heard the clatter, so I made sure to get back in case he had the chance to get something juicy out of the trash. When I returned the cans were all over the floor and my dog was as far away from the trash can as he could be. I think I made my point! He is very careful about approaching the trash can now and generally cuts it a wide berth. The best part is that he is convinced the trash can made the noise, not me so I know he will think twice about dumpster diving whether I am there or not.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: » Is DUPSTER DIVING Your Dog’s New Hobby? »Sport News & Equipment

Leave a Reply

